See What's Available for Half-Price!
Shows

Voice of Good Hope

Voice of Good Hope

Show Information

An online reading of City Lit’s production of Voice of Good Hope by Kristine Thatcher. Our original production took place in January and February of 2020. We are thrilled to bring you the original cast and the play in its entirety.

Voice of Good Hope is a dramatic portrait of Barbara Jordan, first Black Congresswoman from the deep south, written by City Lit’s resident playwright, Kristine Thatcher, Jeff-nominated for Best New Play last season’s THE SAFE HOUSE. The play follows Jordan from her childhood in Houston’s Fifth Ward to her receiving the Presidential Medal of Freedom, and deals with her pivotal role on the House Judiciary Committee during the Nixon impeachment hearings, her complex political relationship with Texas power broker Robert Strauss, her struggle with muscular dystrophy, and her twenty-year relationship with Nancy Earl, her companion and occasional speechwriter, and ultimately her caregiver.

VIEW ANYTIME HERE

City Lit Theater

Take Note

  • This production is free of charge. The links below will take you directly to the theatre’s website.

Buy Tickets

When would you like to attend this show?

Enter offer code HOTTIX before selecting your seats.

Monday, May 10
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Tuesday, May 11
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Wednesday, May 12
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Thursday, May 13
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Friday, May 14
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Saturday, May 15
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Sunday, May 16
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Monday, May 17
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Tuesday, May 18
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Wednesday, May 19
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Thursday, May 20
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Friday, May 21
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Saturday, May 22
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Sunday, May 23
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Monday, May 24
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Tuesday, May 25
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Wednesday, May 26
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Thursday, May 27
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Friday, May 28
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Saturday, May 29
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Sunday, May 30
  1. 11:59pm
    $0

Monday, May 31
  1. 11:59pm
    $0